68th Annual FUN Show January 5-8, 2023 Orlando, FL

Wow what a show. We had 627 dealer booths, 1797 registered dealers, 250 early bird badges, 948 new photo I. D's. and 7,500+ public attendees. General chairman Gary Braisted's theme for the show was "Exploring Space". Astronaut Winston Scott was there along with a special bank note saluting Artemis and the Astronaut Memorial Foundation.

There were hundreds of people waiting to get in the show Thursday morning. At the opening of the show FUN President Bob Hurst introduced Astronaut Winston Scott, Deputy Director of the U.S. Mint Kristie McNally, and ANA President Ralph Ross.

The show had the U.S. Mint, Heritage Auctions, Dennis Boggs as Abraham Lincoln, Patrick McBride as Ben Franklin, Piedmont Gold Panners, Wizard Supply, Mike Bean and his Spider Press, Cindy Calhoun's elongated cents, Treasure Trivia for kids run by Sam Gelbard, and the Coins & Kids booth had over 300 kids win numismatic prizes. PCGS, NGC, ANACS, and ICG were there. PMG & Legacy paper money graders were there.

Randy Campbell had 12 educational speakers with one session drawing over 100 people. Bob Russell's exhibit area had 45 exhibits including 8 YN exhibits in 192 show cases and 27 exhibit judges. Best of Show was Brett Irick's" Early Republic of Mexico1/2 Escudo Gold Coins 1825-1870" and the People's Choice Award went to Steve Feiertag for "A Unique Indian Cent Set Collection". Tony Bonaro's Scout program drew 54 Scouts, and his YN program drew 33.

The Numismatic Ambassador Award Breakfast had 38 in attendance and we honored 5 new Ambassadors. They are Cindy Calhoun- Shepard Town, WV, Paul Gilkes- Sidney, OH, Glen Jorde- Devils Lake, ND, Joshua McMorrow-Hernandez- Tampa, FL, and Mitch Sanders- Rochester, NY.

The FUN Club Get Together luncheon had 38 in attendance. Ten ICG slabbed silver eagles were given away. The FUN sponsored club buses were Ocala CC with 41 on board, Palm Beach CC with 32, West Hernando with 37, and Jacksonville CC with 49. Sarasota CC came later with 22.

FUN's highest award, "Award of Merit" was given to Ed Abbott and Bob Hurst. The Jim & Carrie Best Literary award was won by R W Julian. Cindy Wibker was honored with a plaque and two tickets to the U.S. Open tennis tournament for her 30 years as FUN Show Coordinator. YN Darion Caycedo received a scholarship to the ANA Summer Seminar in Colorado Springs, CO.

FUN membership was 3720 before the show. We added 430 at the show including 7 life memberships. The free Shuttle buses were very active with lots of riders coming and going to the show from the three host hotels. And finally, the weather was nice with the low around 50 and the high around 75 degrees.

Summer FUN is July 13-15, 2023, in Hall WE1 next to the Rosen Plaza. See you there!!

Tony Swicer FUN President Elect